Skip to main content

Final Fantasy screenshot

Every now and again, something comes along that redefines its genre and changes everything else that comes after it.

The video game Final Fantasy is one such masterpiece, and this seminal title is now available in the Windows Phone Marketplace for your Nokia Lumia smartphone.

Young gamers today would be shocked by how crude and basic video games used to be.

Final Fantasy, a role-playing game developed out of Japan in 1987, was a revolutionary title that featured, for its time, stunning graphics, lush orchestration and intricate plot lines.

Final Fantasy screenshot

As ever, and on this Windows Phone version, the quest is simple: it is a time-honoured battle of good versus evil.

The fiends have darkened the elemental crystals and your quest is to guide the Warriors of Light, on a journey to restore the crystals to their rightful lustre.

Along the way there will be battles, puzzles, vehicles and the promotion of different characters as you explore the Final Fantasy world.

The world lies shrouded in darkness…

Final Fantasy screenshot

To begin, you choose and give a personal name to the four Warriors of Light that will make up your group.

There are six different types of characters to choose from: Warrior, Thief, Monk, Red Mage, White Mage, and Black Mage.

They will all have different skills and special weapons that could help you at various points in your journey.

You must familiarise yourself with the ‘over-world’ map, which you will be using to direct characters to different locations.

Along the way, there will be towns and dungeons, where side-characters can give you useful information or sell you equipment.

Final Fantasy screenshot

The key is to win battles, which earns points and raises the level of your four Warriors.

Master the battles in this immersive and legendary role playing game, and you will cast away the darkness and light up the world once more.

Final Fantasy on Windows Marketplace, £5.49.

This Windows Phone version of Final Fantasy also contains the bonus dungeons that were added to later editions of the game – the Soul of Chaos and the Labyrinth of Time.